Dr. Phillips Center Honors High School Musical Theater with 10th Annual Applause Awards June 1, 2024

Applause Awards - Dr. Phillips Center
Dr. Phillips Center

Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts has announced tickets are now on-sale for the 2024 Applause Awards, taking place on Saturday, June 1, 2024.

The annual Applause Awards celebrates top talent in our regional high school theaters, including teachers and students.

This year’s tenth annual program includes more than 3,000 individuals, marking the highest participation since the program’s inception.

Broadway celebrity, and Dr. Phillips High School alum, Michael James Scott will take the stage alongside former winners Samantha Nelson and Jackson Chase to host this showcase of local high school talent.

“I couldn’t be more excited to come back home and host this decade milestone year for the Applause Awards,” says Michael James Scott. “I see myself in all these young Orlando artists who have dreams of being in entertainment. To come back and be there to witness these talented young artists and be a part of this special evening is a big beautiful fierce gift.”

Broadway veteran Ray Roderick will direct his third Applause Awards production with Lauren Langa directing the music.

Applause Awards - Dr. Phillips Center
Dr. Phillips Center

Fifty-seven productions from 37 schools will represent 10 Florida counties across Central and North Florida this year.

During the event, winners will perform in various categories recognizing excellence in singing, acting, dancing, supporting and lead performer roles.

Five schools will be honored for Outstanding Musical, and two lead performers will be selected as the Applause Awards winners and Jimmy Award nominees, representing our community in New York City.

The Applause Awards also offers all participating college-bound students a chance to earn a scholarship. To date, the arts center has awarded more than $160,000 in scholarships through the program.

Some previous winners and finalists have even gone on to make their Broadway or Hollywood debut:

  • Tony Moreno – “Book of Mormon,” Broadway
    Applause Awards & Jimmy Award Winner, Best Actor (2017)
  • Sofia Deler – “The Prom,” Netflix Premiere
    Applause Awards & Jimmy Award Winner, Best Actress (2017)
  • John Zamborsky – “Jesus Christ Superstar,” National Tour (2024); “CATS,” North American Tour (2023)
    Applause Awards Winner, Best Actor (2018)
    Jimmy Award Winner, Outstanding Dancer (2018)
  • Miguel Gil – “Kimberly Akimbo,” Broadway
    Applause Awards Winner, Best Actor (2021)

CitySurfing Orlando dotted divider


Tickets start at $25 and can be purchased online at DrPhillipsCenter.org. Parking can also be pre-paid at that link.

The 2024 Applause Awards will take place in the venue’s Walt Disney Theater.

This event is made possible thanks to the support of AdventHealth, Chick-fil-A Greater Orlando Area, Experience Kissimmee, OUC: The Reliable One, Florida Theatrical Association, the Chesley G. Magruder Foundation, the State of Florida, Department of State, Division of Arts and Culture, the Florida Council on Arts and Culture and the National Endowment for the Arts.

To get involved and support student scholarships, email Development@drphillpscenter.org.

Applause Awards - Dr. Phillips Center
Dr. Phillips Center
Scroll To Top