Three Shuttle Astronauts to be Inducted to 2013 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame at Kennedy Space Center in April

The 2013 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is set for April 20 at Kennedy Space Center Visitors Complex. Three space shuttle astronauts will be honored, and it will be the first time two women will be inducted at the same time.

astrohallfamemedalEileen Collins was the first woman to pilot and command a space shuttle. As a four-time spaceflight veteran, Collins logged more than 872 hours in space and her missions include STS-63, STS-84, STS-93 and STS-114.

Bonnie Dunbar served as a shuttle mission specialist and payload commander. Dunbar logged 1,208 hours in space and her spaceflights include STS 61-A, STS-32, STS-50, STS-71 and STS-89. She also has received numerous honors, including NASA’s Outstanding Leadership Award in 1993 and NASA’s Exceptional Service Medal in 1998 and 1991.

Curt Brown is a veteran of six space shuttle flights. He began his career with NASA in 1987 as a pilot and has logged more than 1,383 hours in space. Brown’s missions aboard the space shuttle include STS-47, STS-66, STS-77, STS-85, STS-95 and STS-103.

The 2013 inductees were selected by a committee of current Hall of Fame astronauts, former NASA officials, flight directors, historians and journalists. The process is administered by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. To be eligible, an astronaut must have made his or her first flight at least 17 years before the induction year and must be retired at least five years from the NASA astronaut corps. Candidates must be a U.S. citizen, NASA-trained, commander, pilot or mission specialist and must have orbited the earth at least once.

Exact viewing details for guests haven’t been released, yet, but as soon as we find out, we’ll post it here.

For more information on the Kennedy Space Center Visitors Complex, visit

Scroll To Top