Light Up UCF Opens for 2012 Holiday Season of Fun on November 16

Light Up UCF, one of Orlando’s annual holiday traditions, starts up this Friday, November 16, 2012, and runs through January 6, 2013.

.

During the event, the area in and around the University of Central Florida arena is transformed into a winter wonderland with lights, holiday music and rides.

Opening weekend will have a concert by country artist Dustin Lynch at the UCF arena building. It starts at 5pm on November 18, and is free to attend.

Several times throughout the event, they’re also showing free movies outdoors on a two-story screen. According to their schedule, here are the movies they have lined up (start times are at 7pm, with a repeat at 9:30pm):

  • Friday, November 16 – National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  • Wednesday, November 21 — It’s a Wonderful Life
  • Friday, November 23 — The Santa Claus 2
  • Wednesday, November 28 — Fred Claus
  • Saturday, December 1 — Polar Express
  • Wednesday, December 5 — The Santa Claus
  • Friday, December 7 — How the Grinch Stole Christmas
  • Saturday, December 8 — Veggie Tales
  • Thursday, December 13 — The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Friday, December 14 — Arthur Christmas
  • Saturday, December 15 — Mickey’s Magical Christmas
  • Wednesday, December 19 — A Christmas Story
  • Friday, December 21 — Elf
  • Saturday, December 22 — Home Alone
  • Wednesday, December 26 — A Christmas Carol
  • Sunday, December 30 — A Miracle on 34th Street
  • Friday, January 4 — Home Alone 2


Santa will also be making appearances for photo ops. Price for the photo is $12.50.

It’s free to wander around but there is a charge for the rides ($4.25-$6.50). There is also a charge for using the ice skating rink ($12 nightly skating/$19.75 nightly unlimited skate and rides pass/$75 seasonal skate pass).

Tickets can be purchased from Ticketmaster. Light up UCF has several group packages, including discounts on skating for groups of 10 or more.

Hours are: Monday through Thursday 5pm to 10pm; Fridays 5pm to midnight; Saturday 11am to midnight; and Sundays 11am to 10pm.

For more info on the event, visit the Light Up UCF website.

About Michelle Snow

Michelle is the owner and editor of CitySurfing Orlando. She also owns Zengrrl.com, is a freelance writer specializing in travel and entertainment, and has authored/co-authored four guidebooks on Orlando and Florida. She lives in Orlando near Disney, and hears Magic Kingdom fireworks every night.
Scroll To Top