UCF School of Performing Arts Releases List of Jan-April 2018 Events #artsatUCF

UCF School of Performing Arts

The UCF School of Performing Arts has released its schedule of events for the current semester January through April 2018, and it’s filled with theatrical and musical productions.

The biggest event is the annual UCF Celebrates the Arts, a free week of performances held at Dr. Phillips Center in downtown Orlando. This year’s event will take place April 6-14, 2018

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

On the regular schedule, there are three theatrical productions and once dance concert. They are as follows:

Pentecost
January 25-February 4 (Theatre UCF Main Stage)
$20 standard, $10 with UCF I.D.
By David Edgar | Directed by Christopher Niess
part of NEA Big Read, January 8-February 4

Boy Gets Girl
February 22-March 4 (Theatre UCF Black Box)
$20 standard, $10 with UCF I.D.
By Rebecca Gilman | Directed by Cynthia White

Bernarda Alba
March 22-March 31 (Theatre UCF Main Stage)
$20 standard, $10 with UCF I.D.
Words and Music by Michael John LaChiusa
Based on the play The House of Bernarda Alba by Federico Garcia Lorca

Dance Concert: NEW WORKS
March 24 at 7 p.m., March 25 at 2 p.m.
$10
Trinity Preparatory School [5700 Trinity Prep Lane, Winter Park, FL 32792]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The UCF School of Performing Arts also has a packed schedule of concerts showcasing a variety of genres, and many are free:

4th Annual UCF Piano Day-Featuring Dr. José López
Saturday, January 13 at 4 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

The Jazz Professors Sliding Home with Mark Buselli
Tuesday, January 16 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
$15 standard, $5 non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Faculty Recital: JoAnne Stephenson, soprano and Robin Jensen, piano
Saturday, January 20 at 4 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Guest Artist Recital: line upon line, percussion
Thursday, January 25 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Collide Series: Null-State
Friday, January 26 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Guest Artist Recital: Cosmos New Music
Sunday, January 28 at 7:30 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Guest Artist Recital: h2/4
Tuesday, January 30 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Jazz Chamber Groups Concert
Tuesday, February 6 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Flying Horse Big Band Concert
Friday, February 9 at 8 p.m.
UCF Nicholson School of Communications Auditorium
$10, $5 non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Faculty Recital: Keith Koons, clarinet
Tuesday, February 13 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

28th Annual UCF Clarinet Day
Saturday, February 17, 12-5:30 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
$25, free with UCF I.D.

UCF Symphony Orchestra Concert
Saturday, February 17, 7 p.m.
St. Luke’s Lutheran Church [2021 W. State Rd 426, Oviedo, FL 32765]
Free, no ticket required

University and Concert Bands Concert
Sunday, February 18 at 7 p.m.
UCF Visual Arts Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Collide Series: New Vocal Music
Tuesday, February 20 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Guest Artist Recital: Jonathan Hulting-Cohen, saxophone
Thursday, February 22 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Youth Bands of Orlando Concert
Sunday, February 25 at 2 p.m.
UCF Visual Arts Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band Concert
Sunday, February 25 at 7 p.m.
West Orange High School [1625 Beulah Rd., Winter Garden, FL 34787]
Free, no ticket required

Jazz Chamber Groups Concert
Tuesday, February 27 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Hippocrene Saxophone Quartet
Sunday, March 4 at 5 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Jazz Ensemble II Concert
Tuesday, March 6 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

The Lester Young Effect
Thursday, March 8 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
$20, $5 for non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Dear John: Celebrating John Coltrane with guest George Garzone, tenor saxophone
Friday, March 9 at 7 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
$20, $5 for non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Orlando Jazz Festival Concert I
Friday, March 23 at 8 p.m.
UCF Nicholson School of Communications Auditorium (room 101)
$20, $5 non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Orlando Jazz Festival Concert II
Saturday, March 24 at 8 p.m.
UCF Nicholson School of Communications Auditorium (room 101)
$20, $5 non-UCF students, free with UCF I.D.

Faculty Recital: Jeremy Hunt, tenor, and Steven Chicurel-Stein, piano
Sunday, March 25 at 2 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Collide Series: UCF New Music Ensemble Concert
Thursday, March 29 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Jazz Chamber Groups Concert
Tuesday, April 3 at 8 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

19th Annual Central Florida SaxFest
Saturday, April 7, 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
$25, free with UCF I.D.

UCF Piano Studio and Ensemble Concert
Sunday, April 15, 3 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

UCF String Ensemble
Tuesday, April 17, 6:30 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

Symphony Under The Stars
Thursday, April 19 at 8 p.m.
UCF Reflecting Pond
Free, no ticket required

UCF Chamber Winds Recital
Friday, April 20, 7:30 p.m.
UCF Rehearsal Hall Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

UCF University and Concert Bands Concert
Sunday, April 22, 7 p.m.
UCF Visual Arts Auditorium
Free, no ticket required

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

For more information on these events, visit ucf.edu.

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll To Top